quSTIONING SEQUENCES
iN Coaching

»QueSCo«

QUESTIONING SEQUENCES IN COACHING

Questions are a core intervention in helping professions such as psychotherapy or coaching. Our project investigates questioning practices in business coaching. Coaching builds on the interaction between coach and client, addresses clients’ work-related problems and aims to facilitate clients’ change. Although coaching is becoming more and more important in the western world, its academic foundation is still underdeveloped. The analysis of questioning sequences,
considered as a crucial intervention, thus addresses a principal research gap.

The aim of our project is the development of a coaching-specific typology of questioning sequences and to investigate their coaching-specific change potentials. The project uses a mixed-methods research design, which combines qualitative linguistic and qualitative/quantitative psychological methods. The data consists of authentic, video-taped, and linguistically transcribed coaching processes from systemic solution-oriented executive coaching. By drawing on German, Austrian, and Swiss data, the project covers the entire German-speaking coaching market.

Our international and interdisciplinary “DACH” research project “Questioning Sequences in Coaching” (QueSCo) has been funded for a duration of 36 months (March 2021-February 2024) with a total amount of 900,000 EUR by the national funding organizations from Austria (FWF, Lead Agency), Germany (DFG), and Switzerland (SNF). It is based at the English Department of the University of Klagenfurt, the Leibniz-Institute for the German Language in Mannheim, and the Department of Applied Psychology at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences. The project is headed by Assoz. Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Graf.

Project progress
52%

Project Description

Questions are essential in helping professions. This international and interdisciplinary research project analyzes questions in systemic solution-oriented and work-related (business) coaching.

Information for Coaches

Get to know more about the importance of questions for your own work as a coach. If you are interested in participating in the project, please find all relevant information here or under “Contribute”.

Project Team

Our project team consists of 12 members in total, working at the University of Klagenfurt, the Leibniz-Institute for the German Language, and the Zurich University of Applied Sciences.

Activities

On this site, we keep you up to date about upcoming talks and activitites, as well as planned and published project publications. Furthermore, please find reading suggestions and preliminary results here.

Board of Experts

Our board of experts from both research and practice assumes an advisory role by working closely together with the project team throughout the entire the research project.

Contact

If you have any questions regarding the project itself, your own participation, or contents of the website, please send an e-mail to quesco@aau.at or contact the project management.

Fragesequenzen
im Coaching

Questioning Sequences in Coaching »QueSCo«

Fragesequenzen im Coaching

Fragen stellen eine zentrale Intervention in helfenden Berufen wie Psychotherapie oder Coaching dar. Unser Projekt beschäftigt sich mit Fragepraktiken im Business-Coaching. Coaching beruht auf der Interaktion von Coach*in und Klient*in, behandelt berufsbezogene Probleme und zielt dabei auf Veränderung und Entwicklung bei Klient*innen ab. Obwohl Coaching in der westlichen Welt signifikant an Bedeutung zunimmt, ist seine wissenschaftliche Fundierung immer noch unzureichend. Die Untersuchung von Fragesequenzen als wesentliche Interventionspraktik widmet sich hier einer zentralen Forschungslücke.

Ziel unseres Projektes ist die Entwicklung einer coachingspezifischen Typologie von Fragesequenzen und die Untersuchung ihrer spezifischen Veränderungspotenziale entlang von Coaching-Prozessen. Das Projekt arbeitet mit einem mixed-methods Forschungsdesign, das qualitative linguistische und qualitative/quantitative psychologische Methoden kombiniert. Daten unserer Untersuchung bilden authentische, auf Video aufgezeichnete und linguistisch transkribierte Coachingprozesse aus dem Bereich des systemisch-lösungsorientierten Führungskräfte-Coachings. Diese werden in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz gesammelt und decken dabei den gesamten deutschsprachigen Coachingmarkt ab.

Unser internationales und interdisziplinäres DACH Forschungsprojekt „Fragesequenzen im Coaching“ („Questioning Sequences in Coaching“, QueSCo) wird von den drei nationalen Förderungsanstalten Österreichs (FWF, Lead Agency), Deutschland (DFG) und der Schweiz (SNF) für 36 Monate (3|2021 – 2|2024) mit einer Gesamtsumme von ca. 900.000 Euro gefördert. Es ist am Institut für Anglistik und Amerikanistik der Universität Klagenfurt, dem Leibniz-Institut für Deutsche Sprache in Mannheim und am Department für Angewandte Psychologie der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften beheimatet und wird geleitet von Assoz. Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Graf.

Projektfortschritt
14%

Projektbeschreibung

Fragen sind von zentraler Bedeutung in helfenden Berufen. Das internationale und interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt analysiert Fragepraktiken in systemisch-lösungs-orientiertem berufsbezogenem Coaching.

Informationen für Coaches

Hier erfahren Sie mehr zur Bedeutung von Fragen für Ihre eigene Arbeit als Coach. Wenn Sie Interesse haben, selbst am Projekt mitzuwirken, finden Sie hier und unter „Contribute“ alle relevanten Informationen.

Projektteam

Unser Projektteam besteht aus insgesamt 12 Mitarbeiter*innen an der Universität Klagenfurt, am Leibniz Institut für Deutsche Sprache und an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften.

Aktivitäten

Hier halten wir Sie über Vorträge, geplante und veröffentlichte Publikationen und weitere Projektaktivitäten auf dem Laufenden. Außerdem finden Sie hier Literaturtipps und Vorarbeiten zum Projekt.

Expert*innenbeirat

Der Expert*innenbeirat aus Wissenschaft und Praxis unterstützt und berät in enger Zusammenarbeit Projektteam und Projektleitung während der Durchführung des gesamten Projekts.

Kontakt

Wenn Sie Fragen zum Projekt, zur Mitarbeit oder zu den Inhalten der Website haben, schreiben Sie eine Mail an quesco@aau.at, oder nehmen Sie Kontakt mit der Projektleitung auf.