Information
for Coaches

Questions as a Central tool for Coaching Practice

What is the significance of questions for the coaching practice?

Questions are a key intervention to induce change in coaching clients, and they are thus an important tool for coaches. Questions thereby fulfil a variety of functions in coaching:

  • Questions initiate imagination processes in clients
  • Questions stimulate self-reflection processes in clients
  • Questions help to localize knowledge gaps and express knowledge requirements
  • Questions help clients to change their perspective and point of view
  • With the help of questions, interests in reasons, functions, relationships etc. can be articulated
  • With the help of questions, it is possible to relate to the past, but also to the future.

In the collaborative turn-by-turn construction of the coaching conversation, questions are a major contributor to change. Since questions “require” an answer from the conversation partner, initiate processes of imagination and self-reflexion, may lead to the exploration of reasons, connections, and solutions, and provide a thematic focus, they are central to the co-construction of new knowledge and thus for the effectiveness of the coaching conversation. Furthermore, questions allow coaches to pursue and achieve the underlying coaching agenda, i.e., the jointly formulated professional goals, by controlling the course of the conversation.

Although questions generally represent a central intervention in helping conversations, the types of questions, their use, and functions in coaching differ from other helping professional formats such as psychotherapy or doctor-patient communication.

In coaching practice literature and various coaching manuals, questions are presented as central. Asking as many questions as possible and using a wide array of question types (scaling questions, systemic questions, hypothetic questions, paradoxical questions, etc.) is often seen as a key quality factor of good coaching. This perception, however, is mostly based on an idealized representation of questions as well as personal evaluation and experience, not empirically supported findings. Studies have shown, for instance, that closed questions can also lead to longer responses from clients, although practice literature explicitly advises against asking closed questions. Moreover, practice literature and coaching manuals do not take a dialogical look at questions in coaching, they rather focus exclusively on the coach asking questions. Clients’ answers as well as coaches’ reactions to clients’ responses are (almost) completely neglected. However, question – response – coach’s follow-up reaction (i.e., questioning sequences) are closely linked to each other and influence the course of a conversation as well as the envisioned change to a great extent.

Questions in Coaching Research

Why is it useful to investigate questions?

Although the importance of coaching has been increasing significantly, its academic foundation is still underdeveloped, especially regarding the coaching process itself. The analysis of questions and questioning sequences as a key tool in coaching conversations thus represents an important research gap. There are hardly any empirical findings regarding questions, and there is no research on questioning sequences in coaching at all. This results in a considerable discrepancy between the significance of questions in practice literature and coaching manuals and the lack of academic research into questioning practices.

By means of empirical analyses, the centrality and actual significance as well as the occurrence of questions can be investigated and documented on a scientific basis. Particularly, such research can examine: which question successfully induces change in clients and at which point in time; how often questions actually occur; in which phase in the coaching process they are asked; and what kind of (positive) effect they have on the interaction. This is exactly what the interdisciplinary research project “Questioning Sequences in Coaching” (QueSCo) addresses.

Within the project, questioning sequences (i.e., coaches’ questions – clients’ responses – coaches’ reactions to clients’ responses) are linguistically and psychologically analyzed regarding their key role in coaching and their contribution to change along successful coaching processes. This is done in cooperation between Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Graf (University of Klagenfurt), Prof. Dr. Thomas Spranz-Fogasy (Leibniz Institute for the German Language) and Prof. Hansjörg Künzli (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) and their respective teams. As the first research project about coaching of this magnitude, “Questioning Sequences in Coaching” is funded by the three national science funds FWF (Austrian Science Fund), DFG (German Research Foundation), and SNF (Swiss National Science Foundation).

The overall aim of the project is to promote the professionalization and further development of coaching practice and research. The goal is to determine the following:

  • How often do the different types of questions occur?
  • What is the relation between their frequency and their effectiveness?
  • How are the questions embedded in the coaching conversation? At what point/During which phase do they occur?
  • What are their coaching-specific functions?
  • How do questions contribute to clients’ change?
  • Do the types of questions correspond to their significance in practice literature?

We work with authentic coaching data, i.e., with audio and video recordings as well as transcriptions of (face-to-face and/or online) coaching processes that were not specifically (and thus artificially) generated for this research project. We aim to incorporate a wide array of coaching processes from Austria, Germany, and Switzerland to cover the entire German-speaking coaching market. Additionally, with the help of questionnaires, clients’ goal attainment is ascertained (at the beginning and at the end of the entire coaching process). The collected data is then analyzed using linguistic and psychological methods by the project members. All participants are of course bound to professional confidentiality. The collected data is anonymized and kept confidential.

The empirical foundation and development of a coaching-specific typology of questioning sequences and their change potentials, based on the actual use of such sequences in authentic coaching conversations, is particularly important for coaching practitioners and their professional activities.

We need your help!

As video recordings of coaching processes form the basis and object of our research project, the participation of coaches is essential for us to answer the research quesitons and achieving the overall goal of our project.

Informationen
für Coaches

Fragen als zentrales Element für die Praxis

Welche Bedeutung haben Fragen für die Praxis?

Fragen sind ein zentrales Instrument um Veränderungen und Entwicklung für Klient*innen im Coaching anzustoßen und sind deshalb ein wichtiges Handwerkszeug
für Coaches. Fragen erfüllen eine Vielzahl an Funktionen im Coaching:

  • Fragen leiten bei den Klient*innen Vorstellungsprozesse ein.
  • Fragen regen zur Selbstreflexion bei den Klient*innen an.
  • Fragen helfen dabei Wissensdefizite aufzeigen und Wissensbedürfnisse zu thematisieren.
  • Fragen ermöglichen für Klient*innen einen Wechsel von Wahrnehmungsperspektiven.
  • Mithilfe von Fragen können Interessen für Ursachen, Funktionen, Zusammenhänge etc. artikuliert werden.
  • Mithilfe von Fragen können Bezüge zur Vergangenheit, aber vor allem auch zur Zukunft hergestellt werden.

Im gemeinsamen Zug-um-Zug-Konstruieren des Coaching-Gesprächs tragen Fragen maßgeblich zur Veränderung bei: Dadurch, dass Fragen eine Antwort der Gesprächs-partner*innen „verlangen“, Vorstellungs- und Selbstreflexionsprozesse auslösen, eine Suchprozess nach Ursachen, Zusammenhängen und Lösungen initiieren können und eine thematische Richtung vorgeben, sind sie zentral für die Ko-Konstruktion von neuem Wissen und somit für die Wirksamkeit des Coaching-Gesprächs. Darüber hinaus erlauben es Fragen den Coaches die zugrundeliegende Coaching-Agenda, d.h. die gemeinsam erarbeiteten professionellen Ziele, durch Steuerung des Gesprächsverlaufs zu verfolgen und zu erreichen.

Obwohl Fragen grundsätzlich eine zentrale Intervention in helfenden Gesprächen darstellen, unterscheiden sich Fragetypen, Verwendung und Funktionen von Fragen im Coaching von anderen helfenden Formaten wie z.B. Psychotherapie oder Arzt-Patienten-Kommunikation.

Fragen wird in der Coaching-Praxisliteratur und in diversen Ausbildungsmanualen ein hoher Stellenwert zugeschrieben. Möglichst viele Fragen zu stellen und dabei eine möglichst große Bandbreite von Fragetypen (Wunderfrage, Skalierungsfragen, systemische Fragen, hypothetische Fragen, paradoxe Fragen etc.) abzudecken, gilt oftmals als Qualitätskriterium für gutes Coaching. Bei dieser Einschätzung handelt es sich allerdings häufig um eine idealisierte Darstellung basierend auf persönlicher Einschätzung und Erfahrungen, nicht aber um empirisch belegte Ergebnisse. So haben Untersuchungen etwa gezeigt, dass auch auf geschlossene Fragen längere Äußerungen der Klient*innen folgen können, obwohl vom Stellen geschlossener Fragen in der Praxisliteratur dezidiert abgeraten wird. Die Praxis- und Ausbildungsliteratur wirft außerdem keinen dialogischen Blick auf Fragen im Coaching, sondern fokussiert ausschließlich das Stellen von Fragen durch den*die Coach. Dabei werden die Reaktionen der Klient*innen, aber auch die Folgereaktionen von Coaches auf die Antworten ihrer Klient*innen (meist) vollkommen außer Acht gelassen. Frage – Antwort – Folgereaktion (d.h. Fragesequenzen) hängen aber eng miteinander zusammen und beeinflussen den Verlauf eines Gesprächs und somit die angestrebte Veränderung maßgeblich.

Fragen und Fragesequenzen in der Wissenschaft

Warum ist es sinnvoll Fragen zu erforschen?

Obwohl Coaching signifikant an Bedeutung gewinnt, ist seine wissenschaftliche Fundierung immer noch unbefriedigend, vor allem was den Coaching-Prozess selbst angeht. Die Erforschung von Fragen und Fragesequenzen als zentrales Instrument in Coaching-Gesprächen stellt dabei eine wichtige Forschungslücke dar. Es liegen kaum empirische Ergebnisse zu Fragen vor und es gibt keine Forschung zu Fragesequenzen im Coaching. Somit ergibt sich eine erhebliche Diskrepanz zwischen der Bedeutung von Fragen in Praxisliteratur und Lehrbüchern und der fehlenden wissenschaftlichen Beforschung von Fragepraktiken.

Anhand empirischer Analysen können die Zentralität und die tatsächliche Bedeutung sowie das reale Auftreten von Fragen wissenschaftlich untersucht und belegt werden. Vor allem kann untersucht werden, wann gerade welche Frage zum Erfolg im Coaching-Gespräch bzw. zur Veränderung in Klient*innen führt; wie oft Fragen tatsächlich vorkommen, in welcher Phase des Prozesses sie gestellt werden und wie sie sich auf die Interaktion (positiv) auswirken. Hier setzt das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt „Fragesequenzen im Coaching“ an. Mithilfe dieses Projektes werden Fragesequenzen (Frage Coach*in – Antwort Klient*in – Folgereaktion Coach*in) im Hinblick auf ihre zentrale Rolle im Coaching und ihren Beitrag zu Veränderung entlang erfolgreicher Coaching-Prozesse sprachwissenschaftlich und psychologisch analysiert. Dies geschieht in Zusammenarbeit von Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Graf (Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Linguistik), Prof. Dr. Thomas Spranz-Fogasy (Leibniz-Institut für Deutsche Sprache Mannheim, Linguistik) und Prof. Hansjörg Künzli (Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, Psychologie) und ihren Teams. Als erstes Forschungsprojekt zum Thema Coaching in dieser Größenordnung wird „Fragesequenzen im Coaching“ von den drei nationalen Forschungsförderungsanstalten FWF (Wissenschaftsfonds Österreich), DFG (Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft) und dem SNF (Schweizer Nationalfonds) gefördert.

Grundlegend sollen mithilfe des Projekts die Professionalisierung und Weiterentwicklung von Coaching-Praxis und Coaching-Forschung befördert werden. Ziel ist es herauszufinden:

  • Wie häufig kommen die verschiedenen Fragetypen vor?
  • Wie ist der Zusammenhang zwischen ihrer Häufigkeit und ihrer Wirksamkeit?
  • Wie sind die Fragen in das Coaching-Gespräch eingebunden? An welcher Stelle / In welcher Phase werden sie gestellt?
  • Was sind ihre coachingspezifischen Funktionen?
  • Welchen Beitrag leisten Fragen zur Veränderung für Klient*innen?
  • Entspricht das Verhältnis der Fragetypen der Bedeutung in der Praxisliteratur?

Gearbeitet wird mit authentischen Coachingdaten, d.h. mit Audio- und Videoaufzeichnungen sowie Transkriptionen von (face-to-face und/oder online) Coaching-Prozessen, die nicht eigens (und somit künstlich) für die Forschung produziert werden. Ziel ist es, ein möglichst breites Spektrum an Coaching-Prozessen aus Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz miteinzubeziehen und damit den gesamten deutschsprachigen Coaching-Markt abzudecken. Außerdem wird mithilfe von Fragebögen die Zielerreichung für Klient*innen (jeweils am Beginn und am Ende des Coaching-Prozesses) erhoben. Die erhobenen Daten werden im Anschluss mithilfe linguistischer und psychologischer Methoden von den Mitarbeiter*innen des Forschungsprojekts untersucht. Alle Beteiligten sind dabei selbstverständlich an die Schweigepflicht gebunden. Die erhobenen Daten werden anonymisiert und mit Vertraulichkeit behandelt.

Die empirische Fundierung und Entwicklung einer coachingspezifischen Typologie von Fragesequenzen und deren Veränderungspotentiale, die auf der tatsächlichen Verwendung von Fragesequenzen in authentischen Gesprächen fußt, ist gerade auch für die Coaching-Praxis von zentraler Bedeutung für ihr professionelles Handeln.

Ihre Unterstützung ist gefragt!

Da die Videoaufnahmen von Coaching-Prozessen die zentrale Grundlage und den Untersuchungsgegenstand des Forschungsprojektes bilden, ist das Mitwirken von Coaches eine zentrale Voraussetzung für die Beantwortung der Forschungsfragen und das Erreichen unserer Ziele.